Search This Blog

Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Best Movie Review - The Longest Yard

The Longest Yard is a remake of the 1970’s box office hit. With Adam Sandler on the lead, it is expected that the film will get a humorous makeover that will make it perfect for the audience who love light moments with serious themes.

In this movie, Adam Sandler plays the part of Paul “Wrecking” Crew. Crew was a famous professional football player who got drunk both with alcohol and his fame and ended up causing a tragic accident because of his drunk driving. He had to serve his sentence in Allenville. In the penitentiary, he met the Warden Hazen who also happened to be a football fan played by James Cromwell. The Warden organized football teams to make money on betting during their free time. When the warden and Crew met, the former challenged Crew to organize his own football team to make the betting even more exciting. Another guaranteed character to make the audience laugh, the caretaker played by Chris Rock helped Crewe with his football team. The players included Nate Scarborough who was an NFL coach played by Burt Reynolds.

The humor in the Longest Yard is much needed what with the setting of prison being bleak, lifeless, and filled with negativity. This humor sets this version apart from the original 1970’s The Longest yard and its loose remake in 2001 entitled Mean Machine. It is a whole new approach without losing the social relevance and the excitement of the original film, getting 31% at the Tomatometer with an average rating of 4.8/10.

The Longest Yard is a perfectly fast-paced movie that will leave you light-hearted. The cast delivered a wonderful performance with their comedic timing and entertaining scenes. It also delivers an inspirational message for the racial underdogs lightly masked with humor. It is as every bit respectable as the original film in its own right. The combination of the prison life story and the action of football as sports will satisfy the hunger of the audience for a nice, light film plus a dessert of laughter sprinkled with insider humor served on a shining tray of the glittering stars of the cast.

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Best Book Review: Silence of the Lambs

The Silence of the Lamb is the second book in the Hannibal Lecter series. It was written by Thomas Harris and reading this book made me understand the book "Hannibal" a lot better. It made me understand Clarice Starling's wounds. It made me understand why everybody is bothered by an escaped prisoner. It made me understand Barney's role and manners towards Clarice.

Aside from shedding light to the stories behind the faces and events in "Hannibal", it is also a great stand alone book. I found it hard to put the book down as I wanted to learn more and more about Lecter, about the moth, about Clarice, about Crawford, and about the victims. The book totally left me something to ponder on and inspired me to run some research especially in relation to Lecter's behavior. 

This book is filled with horror, with suspense, and with action that is to be expected of Thomas Harris. The story was told wonderfully that it made me imagine each scene vividly and the scenes when Starling had to go to Hannibal Lecter's sell scared me the most. 

Get The Silence of the Lamb in Amazon

Rating: ***** out of *****

Friday, December 27, 2013

Kindle Giveaway

December Kindle Fire   Win a Kindle Fire HDX, Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash ($229 value)   This is a joint AUTHOR & BLOGGER GIVEAWAY EVENT! Bloggers & Authors have joined together and each chipped in a little money towards a Kindle Fire HDX 7".
The winner will have the option of receiving a 7" Kindle Fire HDX (US Only - $229 Value)
  Or $229 Gift Card (International)
  Or $229 in Paypal Cash (International)
      December Kindle Fire Giveaway #2 Sponsors
  1. I Am A Reader, Not A Writer
  2. Feed Your Reader
  3. Darker Passions
  4. Author Talia Jager
  5. The (Mis)Adventures of a Twenty-Something Year Old Girl
  6. Kelly P's Blog
  7. Kelly's Lucky You
  8. LeahSay's Views
  9. Author Bella Street
  10. Author Bonnie Blythe
  11. Feed Your Fiction Addiction
  12. Blogging the Beloved
  13. Fae Books
  14. Author Kelli Beck
  15. Barb's Wire - eBooks & More
  16. MumbleBee Inc.
  17. MyLadyWeb: Women's History and Women Authors
  18. I Know That Book!
  20. The Reporter and the Girl
  21. My Story That I Like Best
  22. Jessica Loves Book
  23. Author Jennie Sherwin
  24. Candace's Book Blog
  25. Attack of the Books!
  26. Author Elizabeth Seckman
  27. Author Rosanne Rivers
  28. Author Carole Lanham
  29. Author Jennifer L. Weil
  30. The Real Bookshelves of Room 918
  31. Author David Pandolfe
  32. Author Georgina Young-Ellis
  33. Author C.J. Burright
  34. Author Derek Rempfer
  35. Book Crushin
  36. Laloba Press
  37. Author Louise Caiola
  38. Author Becky Monson
  39. Write Story Editing
  40. Bookworm Lisa
  41. Author John D. Mimms
  42. Author Heidi Garrett
  43. Stanley and Katrina Pet Authors
  44. Author Carol Davis Luce
  45. Author A. Wrighton
  46. The Late Bloomer's Book Blog
  47. Immortal Ink Publishing
  48. Circus of Lost Souls
  49. Author Inger Iversen
  50. Author Tracy Jorgensen
  51. Author Christy Hayes
  52. Author Lisa C. Temple
  Sign up to sponsor the next Kindle Fire Giveaway:   Giveaway Details 1 winner will receive their choice of an all new Kindle Fire 7" HDX (US Only - $229 value), $229 Amazon Gift Card or $229 in Paypal Cash (International). There is a second separate giveaway for bloggers who post this giveaway on their blog. See details in the rafflecopter on how to enter to win the 2nd Kindle Fire HDX 7". Ends 1/1/14 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and sponsored by the participating authors & bloggers. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.  a Rafflecopter giveaway END HTML

Saturday, October 26, 2013

What can possibly go wrong for a woman who is popular in the elite circle of New York City? Everything. A little misstep, a wrong word at the wrong time, a misbehavior seen by another person will surely crush a socialite’s reputation. With what happened to Faith Carraday, her reputation was not just crushed but obliterated. After her husband allegedly engaged in illegal business and got arrested despite his denial of his involvement, she was placed in the midst of rumors and rejection.

To start anew, she went back to North Carolina. Now, the question is, how will she rise from the ashes? Another challenge is posed as she goes home to find her feet when she turned her back on it when she left with her husband Luke. Luke, on the other hand, also has to go back to his family whom he also turned his back on when he left.

Now you have the chance to get your copy of the book Heart of the Country by Jana Kramer and the movie too! Just click the link below to join the giveaway! Deadline is on November 1, 2013 at 12:00 midnight.

Friday, July 26, 2013

Best Movie Review: The Craft

The Craft made witchcraft attractive more than scary, to me at least. Best Book and Movie Reviews features this review because of its interesting plot, the goth fashion that I love, and witchcraft gone bad. I also included a link wherein you may use an Gift Card - $25 (Birthday Balloons design) to purchase the DVD. This movie features four main characters namely Sarah, Bonnie, Nancy, and Rochelle. This might seem like the usual high school movies wherein you watch a group of friends have fun, get in trouble, but everything works well in the end.

Like those usual high school movies, you will be able to relate to each of the main characters. There will be the popular school that everybody likes, including you, and it would be convenient to cast a love spell when you want to. You may want to get revenge from somebody who has been bullying you ever since school began. It would feel nice to get back at him or her for all the hurtful things did or said to you. You may also want to get rid of your imperfections so you can be as beautiful or as handsome as possible.

Best Book and Movie Reviews believe that we all desire to have something but that there is no such thing as a perfect person or a perfect life and when we try to use our abilities, may it be natural or paranormal powers to twist our fate, it will lead to abuse and will never lead to a happy ending.

It is perfect for teenagers. You may purchase it using Gift Card - $25 (Birthday Balloons design) and give it as a present for someone. It is a nice movie to watch with friends especially because it shows how important it is to be loyal to your friends and not stab one on the back over some popular guy who does not really care about you that much. In the end, Sarah made the best possible decision and kept her friend from doing more harm to other people and to herself. It is always a great challenge to not use your power to make things easier and more convenient to you and harming other people along the way.

What also sets The Craft different from other high school movies is that it shows how people with deep desires can be evil. This movie shows that life will be much better if we work on what we have and make the best out of it.

Best Book and Movie Reviews looked for The Craft movie and you may purchase it through Amazon.

You may also use a Best Buy Gift Card to purchase The Craft Widescreen

Rating: **** (out of *****)
Photo Source: Wikipedia

Best Book Review: Anne of Green Gables

I purchased the book "Anne of Green Gables" by Lucy Maud Montgomery at less that Php50.00. It is one of the easy reads that I really loved that's why I decided to make my first book review on Best Book and Movie Reviews for it. I am including links wherein you can buy the book and even a DVD for which you may use an Amazon Gift Card - E-mail and purchase it for your collection or as a gift. I purchased it in a book sale like most of the books that I bought when I was in college. It was hardbound and thick. Even though a lot of people that I know are intimidated by thick books, it has no such effect on me. Mostly, I prefer big, thick books since these usually have big prints and that makes it easier to read. I don't mind carrying a big book. This is probably why I am not much into e-books unless I do not have any other choice left.

This book is about Anne Shirley who was an orphan. She was mistakenly sent to Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert for adoption. They were actually expecting a young boy who can help out with Matthew's tasks in the farm. Anne shocked Matthew who came to the train station to fetch her with her endless talking. He did not have the heart to tell Anne about the mistake.

Best Book and Movie Reviews also believes that Green Gables is perhaps the most peaceful and beautiful places. Everybody knew everyone. It is a great place for kids to grow up in and for old people to stay in. It reminds me of my hometown, but that's another story.

After a lot of events, the two eventually fell in love with Anne. It is a story that is easy and fun to read especially when you come to the part about Anne's numerous mischief. You will read about the usual things that girls her age want and need but you will also be amused about her unconventional way of thinking.

This is a feel-good book and it would be great to read in between heavy readings. It is also a good book for kids who are in transition from short books to one with multiple chapters. The words are not that hard to understand and it is great practice for reading. You may use your Gift Card - $25 (Birthday Balloons design) to purchase a complete DVD set to motivate young readers and hold their interest. You can watch the DVD with them and discuss some comparisons between the book and the DVD.

Best Book and Movie Reviews looked for available Anne of Green Gables books online from Amazon.

You can also use your Amazon Gift Card - E-mail to buy the Anne of Green Gables: Collector's Edition.

Rating: **** (out of *****)

Welcome to Best Book and Movie Reviews

I always ask my friends for recommendations as to which book would be nice to read next or which movies are worth watching. Likewise, my friends ask me for suggestions. This is when Best Book and Movie Reviews was born. I thought that it would be nice to have all the books and movies that I would recommend in one place as well as the books and movies that are total waste of time.

I mostly read fiction - fantasy, adventure, chic lit, mystery novels, and paranormal stuff.
I watch pretty much everything.

Aside from the best book and movie reviews, I also included book and movie quotes. These are the memorable lines from books and movies.

In every review, links to the online store where the reviewed book or movie may be bought. Promos, coupons, and even a Best Buy gift card for the book or movie is also included. It is definitely better if you can easily find the book or movie in case you liked it based on the review and would like to purchase it, read or watch it, and add it to your collection. 

Gift certificates, coupons, and discount cards such as a Best Buy gift card will always be well-appreciated. It saves the gift giver time and effort in finding a gift that a specific person would like. It will also be appreciated by the receiver since he or she will be able to purchase any book or movie using the gift card. 

Best Book and Movie Reviews encourages readers' participation. You may post comments on any of my reviews, request for a review, or send a quote that you like. You may send any of these to and I will surely get back to you and will post your favorite quote. You may also want to check us out regularly for contests and promos.